masterpopla.blogg.se

Laura mak girls with muscle
Laura mak girls with muscle










laura mak girls with muscle

“After designing under so many other people, starting my own label really came out of the necessity to express myself creatively and spiritually. brands, including Band of Outsiders, Raquel Allegra, and Entireworld, before starting my own brand.” After graduating, I worked for a few L.A. I always knew I wanted to work in fashion, so I ended up attending Parsons for fashion design. Part of the deal was that if I went with her on these trips, we would go to the city’s fabric markets and then make clothes together. When I was in high school, she started going on business trips to Shanghai. I loved looking through my mom’s fashion magazines, going window shopping with her, and watching her getting dressed up for events. “My love for fashion really began in childhood. We caught up with the designer via Zoom to talk about launching her own label, Shanghai’s fabric markets, vintage clothing, and creating her dream wardrobe. Then she had to meet up with her hotel heir godfather for dim sum before going to her ’80s internship,” she says. “I like to describe the label as Norma Kamali skipped cotillion and went to a punk show. High-tea culture, Austrian duchesses, Kraftwerk, and the films of Wong Kar-wai all figure into the label’s whimsical and anachronistic separates. vibe, Mak’s collections are rife with eclectic, sometimes juxtaposing references. Drawing inspiration equally from childhood trips to Shanghai and British Hong Kong, and today’s easy-going L.A. Since then, Mak’s been slowly building a fantastical wardrobe-and a whole world-that’s just as vibrant and rich as the silk taffeta she uses to create her covetable garments. We’ve seen the muses, but who is Chelsea Mak? After graduating from Parsons and cutting her teeth at a number of high-profile American brands, the Los Angeles –based designer decided to strike out on her own, launching her namesake label in 2018. Or at least you’ve caught sight of her: making orange juice in a crispy tie-back dress eating pancakes in a breezy deep V-neck blouse or taking a mirror selfie in the label’s viral ruffle-shouldered top. If you’ve spent any time scrolling through Instagram during quarantine-and who hasn’t?-you’re probably acquainted with the Chelsea Mak muse.












Laura mak girls with muscle